The Man Booker Prize 2013

Image of The Luminaries book cover
Man Booker Prize Winner 2013

The 2013 winner of the Man Booker Prize was announced on 15th October.  

Eleanor Catton is the youngest writer to have won the Man Booker Prize.  Her novel, ‘The Luminaries’, was chosen from 151 entries and is the longest novel ever to have won.

Set in New Zealand during the time of the 1866 gold rush ‘The Luminaries’ tells the story of a traveller, Walter Moody, who has come to make his fortune in the New Zealand gold fields. He arrives in town on a stormy night and stumbles upon 12 men who are meeting in secret to discuss a number of unsolved crimes. Each man knows something about the crimes that he is not telling the others. Moody soon finds himself drawn into the mystery of a ghostly ship, a young man’s disappearance, a prostitute’s attempted suicide and an enormous fortune found in the house of a luckless drunk.  

The winning book and all of the shortlisted titles are now available in the Learning Centre.

  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
  • Dear Live by Alice Munro
  • Harvest by Jim Crace
  • The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • The Testament of Mary by Colm Toibin

For more information about the Man Booker Prize visit their website:

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s