Walter Scott Prize For Historical Fiction 2014

The shortlist for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2014 has been announced today.

The Walter Scott Prize for historical fiction honours the legacy of Sir Walter Scott, founder of the historical novel. The Prize was first awarded in 2009 for originality and innovation in fiction writing that sheds light on both the present and the past. The winner will be announced on 13th June 2014.

The shortlist is:

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
Harvest by Jim Crace
Fair Helen by Andrew Greig
An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris
The Promise by Ann Weisgarber

Shortlisted Books
Available in the Library



Three of the shortlisted novels are available from our library, Life After Life, The Luminaries and Harvest.


Robert Harris novels
Available in the Library


The library also has a selection of books by Robert Harris, including Imperium, Fatherland and Pompeii.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s